Birketts celebrates internal talent with 59 promotions

19 October 2021

Leading law firm Birketts has announced a raft of promotions as 59 lawyers take on more senior roles across all its offices and areas of legal expertise.

Birketts has continued taking huge strides in the last 12 months. Following on from a merger with insurance specialists EC3 Legal and a new office in London the firm has achieved a ranking of 58th in the UK top 100 law firms, as well as a record 34 practices listed as ‘top-tier’ and more than 100 lawyers named in the Legal 500 rankings for their contributions to their teams.

On top of the firm’s new Associates, Senior Associates and Legal Directors, more than a dozen Partners have joined the firm through recruitment and internal promotions since the start of the pandemic.

These successes have seen the firm collect a series of other awards and nominations; most recently Birketts was shortlisted for ‘Law firm of the Year: The Independents – Regional’ at The Lawyer awards, and ‘Independent Law Firm of the Year’ at British Legal Awards, both to be announced in November.

Speaking after the promotions, CEO Jonathan Agar said: “Each of these promotions is hard-earned recognition of the work our lawyers put in for every client. The ramifications of the pandemic have left our clients, from individuals to international corporations, with unprecedented and unexpected disruption to their lives and livelihoods, and we pride ourselves on the ability to resolve these problems.

The last 18 months have highlighted not just the importance of our legal advice, but the unrivalled client care we offer; Birketts’ commitment to developing the talent of our teams is a crucial factor in delivering both these qualities in our work. Congratulations to all our newly promoted colleagues.”

A full list of promoted lawyers can be found below:

Legal Directors

Rachel Astill

Nicola Doole

Sam Greenhalgh

Claire Jones

Nicola Lebish

Jennifer Leeder

Caroline Nicholls

Ivana Radovic

Louisa Saunders

Senior Associates

William Arran

Adam Blenkinsop

Thomas Carley

Emma Chiaramello

Kelvin Cooper

Paul Eastall

Sarah Ellero

Sarah Fish

Katie Gibson-Green

Jessica Godfrey-Withey

Catherine Hepworth

James Humphreys

Cara Keen

Emily Osborne

Kathryn Palmer

Victoria Pollington

Esther Round

Rhiannon Russell

Alex Smith

Sarah Smith

Corinne Spencer

Sophie Thornley

Leah Veasey


Matthew Adamson

Naomi Baker

Marion Bennett

Chloe Bird

Sarah Branwhite

Stephanie Butler

Eleanor Chow

Anna Chapman

Tijen Clark

Nahla Faiz

Simona Gruodyte

Nicola Heywood

Abigail Hubert

Talia Jacobs

William Kemp

Patrick McCoy

Tim Metcalfe

Emily Mills

Ross Norfolk

Sabina Rooney

Annalise Shelcott

Jack Shreeve

Corinne Smith

Richard Strange

Dharshica Thanarajasingham

Thomas Utting

Tom Wright